Framlingham Castle

Suffolk, England

City/Town/Village: Framlingham
District: Suffolk Coastal
County: Suffolk
Latitude/Longitude: 52.224, 1.34839
Postcode: IP13 9BP
(postcode is for sat-nav purposes only, and may not represent the actual address of the castle)

Owner

English Heritage

Accomodation Links

Hotels and Guest Houses in Framlingham
Framlingham Castle is a magnificent 12th century fortress with a long and colourful past which makes a fascinating family day out in Suffolk. The castle was once the refuge of Mary Tudor before she became Queen in 1553 and visitors can now explore over 800 years of life at Framlingham Castle in the 'From Powerhouse to Poorhouse' exhibition.Embark on a self-guided journey of discovery with our themed trails and lively audio tour, and explore the Mere and the wall-walk with its spectacular views over the surrounding landscape. Younger audiences will enjoy a variety of themed games and interactives.
Admission
Adults: £6.00
Children: £3.00
Concessions: £5.10
EH Member Cost: Free

Information from English Heritage website

Framlingham Castle is a Listed Building. Here's what the official description says about it:

TM 26 SE FRAMLINGHAM CASTLE STREET

2/19 Framlingham Castle.
-

GV I

Castle ruins. In flint and coursed septaria with frees tone quoins and
dressings. Battlemented curtain walls and 13 square cowers built by Roger
Bigod II in a reconstruction of 1190-1200, incorporating fragments, between
the 6th and 7th towers,of walls and of a stone hall built in the early C12 by
Hugh Bigod. Gateway and bridge built by Thomas Howard, 3rd Duke of Norfolk,
circa 1520-30 to replace the earlier drawbridge. His arms are set over the
entrance in a worn stone panel. The red brick chimney-stacks with ornamental
shafts which top the towers were added at about the same time; some are
dummies. In 1635 the castle was sold by Theophilus Howard, Earl of Suffolk,
to Sir Robert Hitcham, who bequeathed it in the following year to Pembroke
College, Cambridge, stipulating that the buildings within the walls should be
demolished and a Poor-House built. The buildings were gradually demolished
during the course of the next century. The historical and architectural
development of the Castle is fully described in the Department of the
Environment Official Handbook (H.M.S.O) and also dealt with in its brief
illustrated guide.


Listing NGR: TM2866663768

Information from British Listed Buildings


Share |